2018 - 2019

Previous Winners

2019 Winners
2018 Winners


Winners of the second Knight of Illumination Awards USA revealed at glamorous ceremony
USA – The winners have been announced at the second annual Knight of Illumination Awards USA (KOI-USA) ceremony, which took place at The Joint in The Hard Rock Hotel on Friday, November 22. This year, underlining the immediate popularity of the KOI-USA ceremony, attendance was up by a third over 2018’s inaugural event, with almost 400 industry professionals gathering to celebrate the creative talents of lighting and video designers’ work produced in the United States over the last year.
Following a stunning indoor drone display courtesy of Verity Studios, 26 designers were ‘knighted’ for their work on productions in the Theatre, Live for Broadcast and Concert Touring & Events categories. These awards were followed by the presentation of the Paky Lifetime Recognition Award created by KOI-USA co-headline sponsor and leading lighting manufacturer, Claypaky.
The 2019 KOI-USA winners are as follows:
The Notch Award for Projection Design: Roma Flowers for A Bon Coeur
The ETC Award for Dance: Brandon Stirling Baker for Reflections
The Altman Lighting Award for Plays (Small Venue): Reza Behjat for Nina Simone: Four Women
The Altman Lighting Award for Plays (Large Venue): Natasha Katz for Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune
The ACT Lighting Award for Opera: Josh Epstein for Ellen West
The Rosco Award for Musicals (Small Venue): Christina Watanabe for The Wild Party
The PRG Award for Musicals (Large Venue): Bradley King for Hadestown
Live for Broadcast
The Vari-Lite Award for Award Shows: Jon Kusner for Billboard Music Awards 2019
The Green Hippo Award for Digital Content: Drew Findley for Breakthrough Prize Awards 2018
The ARRI Award for Unscripted Series: Oscar Dominguez for The Voice Season 16
The Astera Award for Live Performance Special (Non Music): Steve Brill & Monica Rose for Funeral of Former President George H.W. Bush
The Ayrton Award for Live Performance Special (Music): Joshua Hutchings for Amazon Prime Day Concert
Concert Touring & Events
The MA Lighting Award for Club: Steven Douglas for Hozier Wasteland, Baby!
The SGM Lighting Award for Corporate Event Lighting: 59 Productions for Apollo 50: Go for the Moon
The disguise Award for Concert Video Content: Michael Figge & Ryan Chung for Lady Gaga Enigma Las Vegas Residency
The GLP Award for Arena: Baz Halpin for Taylor Swift reputation Stadium Tour
The LMG Touring Award for Corporate Event Video Content: 59 Productions for Apollo 50: Go for the Moon
The Robert Juliat Award for Festival/One-off Lighting: Bruno Poet & Richard White for Björk’s Cornucopia
The Elation Award for Stage Lighting: Nick Whitehouse, Dom Smith, Tony Caporale, Erik Andersen & Brian Vaughan for Billie Eilish When We All Fall Asleep World Tour
The Paky Lifetime Recognition Award Winner: Wendall K. Harrington
The Paky Lifetime Recognition Award was created to recognise industry persons that have dedicated more time and energy than would ever be expected of them and benefitting the wider industry. This year’s winner was designer and educator Wendall K. Harrington, was chosen by the KOI-USA Committee.
Harrington, a ground-breaking projection designer was hailed “the godmother of all projectors” by John Simon in New York magazine, having worked on live events, theatre, dance, and opera since the 1970s. Ellen Lampert-Greaux, KOI-USA Committee member, says, “Harrington forged her way onto stages when projection technology was still in its infancy, yet nothing deterred her from her quest for quality and innovation. She inspired the next generation of projection designers and continues to inspire as an educator at Yale School of Drama, where she is the head of the projection design concentration.”
Harrington has designed for Broadway, including All The WayDriving Miss Daisy, and Grey Gardens, with concert work including The Talking Heads’ Stop Making Sense, and Pete Townshend’s Psychoderelict, as well as tours for Chris Rock and Simon & Garfunkel.


The winners of the inaugural Knight of Illumination Awards USA (KOI-USA) have been revealed.
An independent jury picked 18 lighting and video designers who were ‘knighted’ for their creative talent across Theatre, Live for Broadcast, and Concert Touring & Events at a gala ceremony attended by 300 professionals in Las Vegas on 20 October.

The winners are as follows:


The DTS Award for Projection Design: Finn Ross & Adam Young for Mean Girls
The ETC Award for Dance: Al Crawford for Victoria
The Altman Award for Plays: Jules Fisher & Peggy Eisenhauer for The Iceman Cometh
The Elation Professional Award for Opera: Joe Levasseur for Cellular Songs
The Robe Lighting Award for Musicals: Tyler Micoleau for The Band’s Visit

Live for Broadcast
The Philips Vari-Lite Award for Awards Shows: Robert Dickinson & Travis Hagenbuch for 90th Academy Awards
The Green Hippo Award for Set & Video Design: Michael Figge for The 2018 MTV Movie & TV Awards
The SGM Award for Unscripted Series: Noah Mitz for America’s Got Talent
The ARRI Award for Scripted Series: P.J. Dillon for The Alienist, Season 1, Netflix
The Ayrton Award for Entertainment & Events: Al Gurdon for Jesus Christ Superstar: Live in Concert

Concert Touring & Events
The MA Lighting Award for Club: Sarah Landau for Fever Ray Tour 2018
The disguise Award for Video Content: Bob Bonniol for GM World Installation
The Avolites Award for Stage: Tom Sutherland for Pitbull’s Time Of Our Lives Las Vegas residency
The Robert Juliat Award for Events: Cory FitzGerald for Beyoncé at Coachella
The GLP Award for Arena: Andi Watson for Radiohead’s W.A.S.T.E Tour 2018

In addition to the design awards, the Paky Lifetime Recognition Award was also presented. Debuting at KOI-USA, this award is named in fond memory of Pasquale ‘Paky’ Quadri, president and founder of Claypaky. It recognises an individual who has gone above and beyond to make a huge contribution to the world of lighting and visual design.
On this, the 30th anniversary of the LDI exhibition, the KOI committee unanimously decided to name Patricia MacKay as the recipient of the Paky Lifetime Recognition Award for 2018. As founder of the LDI exhibition and editor and publisher of Theatre Crafts and Lighting Dimensions magazines, the forerunners of Live Design, MacKay was responsible for building the North American entertainment production industry’s leading showcase vehicles. As the founder of ETEC, the industry’s first online news platform, MacKay was also a pioneer of the digital revolution and has continued her involvement with the industry as a Fellow of the USITT.

As in the UK, each Knight of Illumination Award winner is presented with a personalised, engraved broadsword and a miniature sword silver lapel pin. The evening was compèred by LDI and Live Design managing director, David Johnson.
KOI-USA was held one month after the 11th annual UK ceremony held in London, which saw more nominations than ever before and a record attendance of more than 520 guests